10 March, 2016 //


Eight world class Irish writers bring to life the innermost thoughts of the seven signatories of the Proclamation of the Irish Republic, along with Nurse Elizabeth O’Farrell, during the last days of their lives. Sending out commands, addressing the people, lying in Kilmainham Gaol, facing the firing squad, being airbrushed out of public view; each of the eight are given their individual voices by the writers. Each monologue is 10 minutes and the performance is directed by Patrick Mason. Writers: Tom Kilroy (Padraig Pearse), Frank McGuinnesss (Eamonn Ceannt), Marina Carr (Thomas MacDonagh), Éilís Ní Dhuibhne (Sean McDermott), Hugo Hamilton (James Connolly), Joseph O’Connor (Joseph Mary Plunkett), Rachel Fehily (Thomas Clarke) and Emma Donoghue (Nurse O’Farrell).

Hosted by South Dublin County Arts Office & The Civic as part of the 1916 Commemoration Programme

Presented by University College Dublin Decade of Centenaries Programme and Verdant Productions